on paper


#on paper_save as 另存

*Exhibition Vision 展览视觉设计

       Etude 练习曲

       Space Discipline 空间规训

*Identities 品牌识别系统设计
       WU lab 唯物

*Books 书籍设计
       One is All, All is One / Predestiny / All 《蒋志:我们 注定 一切》
       Gao Ludi
       Zhai Liang
       Ce Jian《简策》

       Hao Liang: Secluded and Infinite Place 《郝量:幽邃之地》
       Ju Ting: Correspondances 
       Peng Wei: Letters from a Distance 《彭薇:遥远的信件》

*Poster 海报设计

*Magazines 独立杂志


#on paper_untitled 未命名

*Artist’s Book Exhibitions 艺术家书展览
        on paper 1, 2017, zapbeijing
        on paper 2, 2018, White Space
        a one and a two, 2020, Aranya Art Center


#on paper_lab 实验室
       Opening Dress Code 开幕穿什么


#on paper_things 万物

       Poster of Classifying Rubbish 垃圾分类海报
       Handmade Round Fan 手工团扇
       Tattoo Sticker 纹身贴






Zhai Liang
Published by White Space Beijing
One painting, two books.
Two paintings, one book.

Before the artist starts painting on canvas, he would prepare himself with a large number of drawings and studies on paper in water colour. This could be read as a prehistory of an oil painting, or could be viewed as an often-neglected space in a garden, the space where there is no apparent path - in other words, where a writer decides the future of his work or where an artist decides what to omit on a canvas. Included in the publication are the studies in a different format; it serves as a prelude or a prologue, and also an integral part of the final painting.

The cover of the smaller brochure and that of the main body of the publication together form a work with a small gap in-between, and this is an accurate metaphor for the artist’s practise. The combination of the “paper” and “canvas” works changes the format of the book, and brings another exciting structural dimension of depth. The Chinese and English fonts used also supports the unique aesthetics of the artist. Zhai Liang (Chinese and English): the monograph narrates the artist’s practise from the exhibition 'The Garden of Forking Paths', to The Night Ferry with additional notes made by the artist, and includes works from 2011 to 2017.

left page, right page, verso or recto